Chat

#68 Race to the Kings: Karaoke Ultra Challenge: Complacency Hurts (Part 2)

So from the previous post, 6 verses were accepted out of the 10 submitted. A bit harsh on Morning Has Broken, but have to accept the rules.

My Polar Buddy used to drill into me “If there is a problem, sort it sooner than later to circumvent any future issues.”

So onwards to checkpoint 2 (CP2). Here’s the first song after CP1.

“Sweet Dreams” by Eurythmics: Accepted as first verse was sung correctly

During this part of the journey, stones had been rolling in and wedging themselves between my right foot and the sole of my sandal but they would also roll out.  It seemed strange there were so many. I ignored the warning dull sensation and sometimes over-pronated my landing to avoid landing directly on a stone under the ball of my foot. There was always a song to sing to divert a pain.

“Take A Chance On Me” by ABBA – Accepted as words to first verse were correct.

As time went on, the underfoot jabs began to intensify.  I stopped several times to wipe the underside of my foot. Then, took my sock off believing there to be something stuck in the sock. I believed this helped, but in truth did nothing. There was a small callus on the ball of the foot, so thought this was actually the issue and would fix this at CP2. Though I did think it strange that the stones kept rolling under my right foot,  I continued to over-pronate for some miles believing it would only be for a short while. In that “short while” a hip flexor niggle began to surface. Of course another song was due and Alison and Nicky came to my aid to provide another short distraction from my own discomfort.

“Ging Gang Goolie” a Camp Fire Song with Alison and Nicky: Accepted as TL corrected words when fluffed!

I continued over-pronating believing everything would be fine, just wanting to get to CP2, but complacency is a fool’s symptom. I would complete about 9km landing in a way that was untrained.

The hip flexor niggle became sore. The Tyre Lady hobbled into CP2.

Whilst talking through the situation with one of the participants (Craig), I took off my shoe and found there was no foot pain when stepping on the soft grass.

The pennies fell out of the sky. Embedded in the under-sole of the sandal was a stone that had an evil sharp edge that had pierced the top of the sole. Though Craig took out his big blade, I managed to womanly handle my sandal and prised out the stone. I handed the knife edged stone to Craig and his buddy to admire and immediately went over to the medic tent. There, my sandal was patched with KT tape. However the fix might have come too late…But a song was due.

HoleyShoe

At Checkpoint 2: “I’m Gonna Be” dedicated to John Lennon – a Parkrun buddy. First verse accepted.

…although Ian said he wouldn’t join me, he really did want to join in 🙂 That was him whistling in the back ground at the end.

Thank you to everyone at CP2 and Alison, Nicky and friend for completing I’m Gonna Be.

So 4/4 songs accepted which brings the total to 10 songs by CP2.

Next post: Onwards to CP3 and paying the price of a school girl error

Leave a Reply

